Buffalo Bill Center of the West logo
Donate Stories Research + Explore School Programs Firearms Records Raffles About Us Careers & Internships Volunteer Contact Us
Get Tickets Plan Your Trip Museums Experiences Events Membership Donate Raffles Research School Programs Firearms Records Blog Employment About Us Contact Us
Loading Events

« All Events

Cody Culture Club: History of the Irma

March 11 @ 5:30 pm - 7:30 pm MST

The Irma Hotel in 1908. MS 6 William F. Cody Collection, McCracken Research Library. P.6.0726

History of the Irma

With Mike Darby

March 11, 2021
5:30–7:30 p.m.

At the Irma Hotel
1192 Sheridan Avenue, Cody

Join Cody Culture Club on select Thursdays, January – April. Appetizers and cash bar at every program.

With health and safety precautions in mind, we may need to limit attendance at 2021 events. Please consider purchasing tickets in advance here. Each program is $20 per person.

In 1902, Buffalo Bill Cody built the Irma Hotel, which he named after his youngest daughter, Irma. Join Mike Darby, owner of the Irma Hotel, as he walks us through the history of this historic downtown gem.

William F. Cody helped found the town of Cody in 1895. He opened the Irma Hotel, which he called “just the swellest hotel that ever was.” Cody maintained two suites and an office for his personal use. When the Burlington Railroad completed a spur line into Cody, his plan was to have travelers stay on their way to Yellowstone National Park.

The Irma Hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places by the National Park Service in recognition of its contribution to the cultural foundations of America. It was designed by Alfred Wilderman Woods, a Lincoln, NE church architect. Certain exterior walls are made of river rock and quarried sandstone from Beck Lake on the south edge of Cody.

The fireplace is an assemblage of rock, ores, minerals and fossils from the surround Big Horn Basin. The Irma’s famous Cherrywood dates to the period of construction and is one of the most photographed features in Cody. The original part of the hotel was built in 1902. The northwest addition was completed in 1929, and the southwest addition was added in 1976-1977.

The Irma Hotel in 1908. MS 6 William F. Cody Collection, McCracken Research Library. P.6.0726
The Irma Hotel in 1908. MS 6 William F. Cody Collection, McCracken Research Library. P.6.0726

Our speaker

Mike Darby, along with his brother and father, own and operate the Irma Hotel. Mike also sits on the Board of Directors for both the Cody Stampede and Cody Country Chamber of Commerce.

Sponsored by:

Burg Simpson, P.C.
Carlene Lebous and Harris Haston
REV Real Estate
The UPS Store

Visit our Cody Culture Club page or call 307-578-4008 to learn more and to purchase tickets in advance.

Upcoming Cody Culture Club events:

April 8: Are We There Yet? The Ecology of Migration


March 11
5:30 pm - 7:30 pm MST
Event Tags:
, ,


Membership Office